25
Jun
09

Phone Woes

So my trusty Sony was dying. It was showing delayed signs of damage from exposure to wet substances, namely water. I decided to replace it before it totally died on me. I could not bear to see it breathe it’s last breath. It was just too painful.
So I just peddled it off and got a new one.

And it’s a Nokia. Now see, I have nothing against them, they’re fine phones. But personally, I prefer SE phones to most Nokias. Something to do with their design and OS. But this time, there was no avoiding this thing because it was the best option for my price range. The only equivalent SE phone wasn’t available here. It’s pretty good, but it’ll take a while to get used to.

So this morning I plugged my walkman into the PC. It refused to charge. It remained silent, saying nothing. Thinking yet another problem had cropped up with my PC, I thought the name of that pill that some people on the blogosphere seem to keep referring to. The one with the chemical name ending in ‘all’. Set off for work, patting it and whispering, “just last through the bus ride, I’ll get you your juice when I get to work”.

Come to work, connect. Won’t charge.

Shudder, wondering if I’ll have to listen to music on the phone. Yes, it’s a music phone, but the sound still isn’t that good. Shudder at the thought of people on the bus looking at me condescendingly, “look at him with his phone! Haha the poor sod!”. Shudder at the thought of having to tell people “I use my phone for music” while they roll on the floor laughing their asses off. Shudder at the thought of playing music off something that is red.

😛

Meanwhile, walkman whined that it was slowly being depleted. I yelled at it that I wasn’t even using it and that it should learn to keep its own screen turned off. Then it started crying and saying I don’t treat it the same as I used to. But you’re an MP3 player, you’re not even supposed to be talking!, I replied. It shut up.

So anyway, googled it and found that it happens when the PC doesn’t detect it right. With not so high hopes, because two PC’s had spurned its advances, I pulled up device manager. Exclamation mark. Right under the walkman was the phone, also listed as an MTP device. I experimentally delete it off the list and lo and behold, the thing starts charging.

Apparently the Nokia driver causes the walkman’s driver to stop working. Unintentional bug, or sly attempt at cornering the mobile music market? I think the latter! WHY would they do such a thing? They are out to get you, I tell you! Watch out! Batten the hatches! Do not give in! They will slowly eat away at your soul! Through your media player of choice.

But seriously, I like this phone. Pretty good for the price, and it doesn’t look as horrid as most other nokias.

Also, a note on music. Only recently discovered MGMT. They sound almost like something Borat would be into, what with all the synthesizers and things, but I like em. I _might_ get the urge to wear tights and a shiny shirt while listening, but they sound cool. Check em out.

11 Responses to “Phone Woes”


  1. 1 Chavie
    June 25, 2009 at 11:27 am

    “exposure to wet substances, namely water.” hahahaha ROFL! 😀 😀

    and I’m pretty sure it’s corporate sabotage by Nokia… those evil Finns! 😉

    and lastly, what’s the use of music phones if they can’t be as good as a music player… always confuses me… 😕

  2. June 25, 2009 at 11:46 am

    lol seriously?? wow.. dirty nokia bastards… SE FTW!

  3. 3 chathuraw
    June 25, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    What’s wrong with listening to music on the phone? You just need a good pair of earphones that’s all. Not the crap Nokia gives with the phone.

    “Shudder at the thought of playing music off something that is red.” hahaha… this is a pretty good point though 😛

  4. 4 Cadence
    June 25, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Ok I’m godey and shudder-worthy. I listen to music off my phone – BUT it’s NOT RED!!! Sleek n Sexy matt-black

    Nokia all the way!!! 😀

  5. June 25, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    @Chavie
    Well, some people don’t really need sound that nice.

    @Gehan
    SE FTW! But Nokia tikak FTW, shape eke wage.

    @chathuraw
    I was kidding about that bit mate, although the phones don’t sound as good as a dedicated player. I use a separate in ear set for music, tried it with phones too. The Nokia is sorta flat in the low range while voice and highs are pretty well rendered. The SE’s fare better in the lows, but my dedicated walkman still sounds better than both.

    @Cadence
    I was kidding about that 😛
    Notice the 😛 in the post? I only ever put it there when I wanna make it absolutely clear that I’m kidding. When it isn’t that clear by itself. 😀

    SE all the way!!!

  6. 6 Delilah
    June 25, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    Traitor. Nokia sucks.

  7. June 25, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    MGMT FTW!!! 😀

    And nokias are coooooool. And they don’t fry your brain as much as SEs, apparently.

  8. 10 RD
    June 25, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    I like some of the MGMT album but it’s a bit too hippyish overall for my tastes. On the other side of things my trusty phone is about to die on me too and there’s little on the market that takes my fancy. Dilemnas!

    • June 26, 2009 at 9:07 am

      Hippyish? It’s got not a single guitar in it. Or so I think.

      :S

      If you mean the lyrics, never really listened. As for the phone, I’m sure you’ll find someone who makes novelty mobile phones which look like Bell himself made em.
      😀


Leave a Reply

