09
Jul
09

The Times They Are a-Changin’

I was listening to the Watchmen soundtrack on the way to work today. Song in the title started playing. It was Bob Dylan, one of those fashionable to listen to fellas. Listening to him, I almost felt cool enough to use an iPod. Listening to him, I could see the movie playing in my head. Listening to him, I could see the movie merging into real life. Listening to him, I started wondering if I’d missed my bus stop.

Then I forgot all about the song when Technical Difficulties by Julien K started playing.

Times are supposed to be changing over here. What with the war being over and all. I’m not sure what exactly is changing, but all I see are minor differences.

What the war was to me –

  • Roadblocks – Apparently they’re going to be reduced now.
  • Checking all over the place – Still goes on.
  • Soldiers all over the place, making it hard to find dark street corners to go take a leak – Still the same.
  • News of things blowing up interrupting my sitcoms – Don’t watch much TV anymore.

And that is, more or less, what I notice. And apart from the roadblocks, it’s still the same. I mean, I didn’t even write about the war, so even my content doesn’t change. I daresay whacko here in his other blog would know something about all these changes, where he uses strange words like “brouhahas”, “oligopolistic” and “other countries”. He also delivers judgment on how attractive various PR people are.

There’s a converter app in most Nokia phones. But them being stupid as they are, they only included temperature conversions. You have to manually add conversion rates for the rest. So, looking through the list of empty categories, I came across Length, Area, Temperature etc. etc. At the bottom of the list was “Lifestyle”. What kind of category is that? Is the place you put conversions like “Women Slept With – Men Slept With”? I would be grateful if anyone can shine a spotlight on it.

11 Responses to “The Times They Are a-Changin’”


  1. 1 Sabby
    July 9, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Only YOUR phone would have such quirky conversions =D

  2. July 9, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    meh
    first para was funny 😛

  3. July 9, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    @sabby
    Right.
    😛

    @SF
    I know. The rest wasn’t meant to be 😛

  4. July 9, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    yes! publicity! thank u.. too bad no one reads ur blog :p

  5. July 9, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    and look, i dont have an elephant’s butt for a picture anymore.

  6. July 9, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    @whack
    I’ll have you know I usually charge people for links on my posts! 😛
    Dunno. How the pic changed. Will try and change it back.

  7. July 9, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p2hNhM3dHB4- loved the movie btw

    the times here they are certainly changing dude/ess. For some people they aren’t changing fast enough. I think it’s not for us to question the presence or absence of it, but to accelerate it.

    • July 9, 2009 at 4:52 pm

      DUDE. It’s Dude. Jerry == Male.

      -_-

      And no, change can’t happen fast enough for me, and I’m too lazy to make it happen. That’s what other people exist for.

  8. 9 Delilah
    July 9, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    brat. how can you make fun of Dylan?

  9. 10 Delilah
    July 9, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    lol:) dudess * points at berry rofl

  10. July 9, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    I diiiiiidn’t! Was just saying some people think it’s fashionable to listen to him! He’s nice to listen to.

    😀

    Fine, point at all the berries you like. 😛


Leave a Reply

