31
Jul
09

Religion and I

Have a loose relationship. I went to a catholic school. Had a great many religious persons in my immediate family. Hell I even used to read the bible when I was little. Granted it was when my mom forced me to while reciting the rosary, but still. I went through nearly 14 years of rigid adherence to all kinds of ‘rituals’ and ‘holy days’, not to mention prayers three times a day. At home I was influenced by my mum, but that was kinda balanced out by my dad, who visited church at most maybe twice a year except for Easter and Christmas.

What I’ve retained from all this is, He’s up there. Somewhere. And uh… that’s about it. The unshakable base faith might be what has provoked me to do things like answer “It’s blowing in the wind” when questioned by my english lit teacher on The Necklace. Or maybe it was just not knowing the answer. But anyway,

I have no idea why I’m writing this post, but I guess it’s just to have in writing, somewhere, what exactly I believe in life. Not sure this is the place to put it, but meh. I am usually influenced by my conscience, which for some reason I think is telling me the right thing to do. But I only listen to it when it’s convenient. I eventually forget it anyway. I choose to only be religious when it suits me. But I do avoid all out ‘evil’. Like not putting up a poster of The Killers in your new apartment, like our resident celebrity chemist. May you titrate in hell for eternity.

I do not “defend his name” wherever I go nor do I take particular pains not to make jests using religion. I believe God needs defending about as much as Optimus Prime needs a haircut. I mean, he’s a deity. Would you or I care if someone said you don’t exist? You might as well shake your fist at the sky and go “You’ve got cooties!”.

And now, to end this horribly disjointed post, I say, Gehan.

19 Responses to “Religion and I”


  1. 1 sabbyaz
    July 31, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    I shouldn’t be laughing but the cooties thing really did the trick.
    LOL. I stand by what I said on my very first comment on your blog =)

  2. 3 Chavie
    July 31, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    “May you titrate in hell for eternity.” lol πŸ˜€ man titration was a pain!

  3. July 31, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    cooties, LOL theres so many idiots in the world who shud have your attitude to things dude xD

  4. July 31, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    u just couldn’t resist, could you? πŸ˜›

  5. July 31, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    I guess it’s just to have in writing, somewhere, what exactly I believe in life…

    hmmm.. all traces of exactness kinda went over my head there lol

  6. 11 Cadence
    July 31, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Don’t worry. Plenty of us share similar views.

  7. July 31, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Hmm…why does this post sound like an elaborate way of telling me that I’m gonna titrate in hell for eternity? πŸ˜€ Now tell me something I don’t know πŸ˜›

    And I’m a celebrity eh? Shaaaa πŸ˜€

    lol @ the cooties comment btw.

  8. August 1, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    :O πŸ˜› You’re alright.

  9. August 1, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    Ah Jarry aiya! πŸ˜€

  10. August 2, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    Titrations! ;( I thought we should be glad all th’s behind us?
    Well dude, For a person who claims to be God himself at times this is a remarkable twist, Maybe ur sanity in some weird twist might infact be intact! πŸ™‚

  11. August 3, 2009 at 9:16 am

    lol funnies. i expected something more viril from gehan though.

  12. August 3, 2009 at 9:36 am

    @Dili
    Totally. Everyone should be like me. πŸ˜›

    @Gehan
    You made me do it!

    @Whack
    Pfft. You’re just too much of a simpleton to get it πŸ˜›

    @Cadence
    Cool, didn’t know anyone who thought like that…

    @Pseudo
    I’m not THAT spiteful about the killers πŸ˜›

    @alterego
    I don’t need YOU to tell me that πŸ˜€

    @cow
    -_-

    @MP
    Of course it is. What would make you think otherwise?!

    @Deeeeeee
    I know. He sucks, doesn’t he?
    πŸ˜›

  13. 19 hijinx
    August 3, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    At least you know where you stand with religion. Me and my religion are much like a couple where the girl has really strict parents who don’t allow her to talk to boys much less go out with one. πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

