11
Aug
09

“You met them WHERE?!”

Meeting people through the internet is strange. Not the actual communicating with them bit, but explaining to others about it. This keeps happening all the time –

Mom – Who are you going with?

Me – Some friends

Mom – School friends?

Me – Nope

Mom – Work? Where did you meet them?

Me – No, not work, just a bunch of friends I met.

From the internet.

Mom – From the internet? What?

Me – Yeah just some people, where’s my bag?

Mom – Are they from your brother’s forum? Who are they?

Me – Where’s the blue t-shirt?

Mom – Was it chat?

Me – I’m going!

*door slam*

There’s still… something about meeting people off the internet. It’s kinda like you’re being investigated for income tax evasion. “Where did this bunch of friends come from eh? Explain her! Who’s this whacking person you were talking about on the phone? Where did they come from?”

Explanations are not an option. Going into the whole explanation of blogs and the like will only leave you looking like some computer geek with no real friends. Disregard the fact that I am a computer geek. I lost my glasses half a year ago so I’m not anymore, okay? Tell anyone who isn’t a blogger about meeting people off the net and they think you’re off to meet a bunch of people who all fit the stereotypical geek mold. They stare at you as if you’re off to a man-boob fest. Yes, the only females on the internet are either insane or 40, hairy and male.

Regarding the whole ‘friends’ thing, you do make friends off the net. Hell, I talk to most of you guys more than I talk to people I met through less virtual methods.

I guess it’s a good thing that actual normal people are the ones behind the keyboards now. Technology is being adopted. Now we just have to tell everyone else about it.

26 Responses to ““You met them WHERE?!””


  1. August 11, 2009 at 11:12 am

    My description is “friend of a friend” but that falls apart when mom asks me which friend…

    She’d be stunned to hear I actually have friends who I didn’t meet in person before becoming friends with them, but it seems easier that way, actually. I don’t have to deal with the stammering moron I turn into in person on a first meet. And there’s always pictures for um.. visual .. um somethingortheother to convince them I’m a nice person 😛

  2. 2 sabbyaz
    August 11, 2009 at 11:13 am

    I know what you mean.
    Telling my parents that I am off to meet bunch of bloggers is like telling them that I am going for a serial killer convention.

    These stigmas. Sad.

  3. 3 Chavie
    August 11, 2009 at 11:19 am

    HAHAHA! 😀 and I thought I was the only one having this problem… 😉

    • August 11, 2009 at 11:40 am

      Oh please! You don’t even come for any of the meet ups, I doubt you’ve ever been in the situ 😛

      And yeah same here, I just mumble something about a friend of a friend and get out of there… Good thing is my parents don’t ask too many questions and forget about it soon enough so that helps 😀

  4. August 11, 2009 at 11:36 am

    is there really a man-boob fest?

  5. August 11, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Once I told some of my friends that I’m off to meet some guys who I met on the net. They were worried that I met you guys on something like adultfriendfinder.com hahaha

  6. 8 Hisham
    August 11, 2009 at 11:54 am

    hahaha… yeah thts cos they all believe ppl off the internet are online predators and sex offenders.. lol..

  7. August 11, 2009 at 11:59 am

    Man the ‘rents are just 50 yrs too late arent they.. 😆 Friend of a friend is what i use. The scary thing is, it turns out to be true! 😮 Gasp! Seems its only about 2,3 degrees of separation most of the time… *shiver* my worlds are collining, feels like Outworld merging with Earth in that lame Mortal Kombat TV movie .. 😛

  8. August 11, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    well some actually are.. i just say ‘friends’ and they all know HisP so i just mention him. But thats for my folks. To anyone else i just generally say ‘a bunch of bloggers’ and to hell with em 😀

  9. August 11, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    When I initially started stalkin dis blog shit I thought I’d meet all these weirdos, freaks n peeps who are in to s & m and sexually depraved perverts, but now I’m a bit disppointed with da Lankan blogosphere

  10. August 11, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Actually never mind meeting the bloggers, Moms reaction was priceless when I was going to meet the Gamers 😆

  11. August 11, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Actually, telling your parents is a breeze compared to all the questions your OTHER friends will ask you. I mean, seriously, doesn’t it just sound weird when you go, “oh, I’m off to hang out with some friends I met off the internet”?

    I for one don’t even TALK about any of this with my “other” friends. :p

    • August 11, 2009 at 12:12 pm

      But yeah, the ‘friend of a friend’ story always works. And it’s not exactly a lie either. I know half of you buggers through a couple of friends I know outside the blogosphere anyway. 🙂

  12. August 11, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    I have this issue as well. I just say I’m going for work, or shopping for gifts 🙂

  13. August 11, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Back in the day, I used to tell my parents the name of any friend that comes to mind ‘cos nobody had cell phones those days.

    Later, I would mention someone who doesn’t have a cell phone.

    And now, well I don’t have to tell them anymore.

    😀

  14. 18 Delilah
    August 11, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    hmmm yes quite familiar with this 😛

  15. August 11, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    lol……… you are not the only one…
    my mother…*rolls eyes* hehe…

  16. 20 Acromantula
    August 11, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    I had to go through the exact same thing 2 years back…. I went met a bunch of FB friends of mine and my parents were like “you hv no idea wht kind of ppl tht are on the internet” (Like they’re the ones behind a key board 20 hours a day)

    Now i just say i’m off to meet some friends from work..and invent some names..lol…

  17. August 11, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    Indeed should we pass it on to the older generation! Talk about my mom and technology! Jeez. Something similar of yours happened to me once, when my friend called me from DxB. Mom asked me who that was & I had to say where she is from and all. The same overreaction takes place when I said I met her through FB!
    Adults are just kids with money!

    Meh!

  18. 22 Cadence
    August 11, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    yup rings a bell. I can usually get away with ‘friends’

  19. 23 Indyana
    August 12, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Oh so you think you have it tough! Imagine my plight, a mother of 3, a blogger, on twitter, and what do u think people would think of me saying I met people through this crazy net! Irresponsible would be a mild attack!

  20. August 13, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    @All
    too lazy to reply individually.
    Thanks for comment, glad you liked.

    @Indyana
    You’re on twitter? Also, glad to see you back round these parts!

  21. 25 erie89
    August 27, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    LOL!!!! Couldn’t help laughing at the dialogue!!!! YESSSS, if you say online, the thing that would come to mind would be an ahemm..adult site!!! And the looks of mothers are better(cos they really don’t understand tech) is better than those of friends!!!


Leave a Reply

