16
Sep
09

Age and Consequences

Hey everyone. I have a feeling I’ve been through this sometime in the distant past, back when people were just beginning to appreciate what genius lay in this blog and cavemen frolicked in caves around Kandy. What am I saying, they still frolic in caves. Back when dinosaurs roamed the earth.ย  My age. My chronological length. My… uh… you get what I mean.

This issue of my age has been cropping up quite frequently in the last few weeks. First was the girl who wouldn’t believe I was younger than her till I showed some ID at an event for work. Then came another dude who kept saying I look older than him. He was 23. And just a few days ago I posted my age on this blog and whacko acts all incredulous. In spite of the fact that we already discussed my age about a month ago.

Now, besides the fact that I am indeed far superior to your average nineteen year old, the manner of the people involved changes ever so slightly. That girl started acting kind of like she wanted to set a good example or something. Then the other dude also started being a little more reserved. Whacko threw a slew of words at me saying he had to take care of two kids now, but I doubt he has the mental age for it anyway.

Apparently I was never pinned as being a teen. I’m slightly offended and at the same time bursting with mature pride at appearing to be more advanced in years. I should be able to go ‘cruisin for female dogs and listening to Michael Bolton’. Though I think the former is preferable to Bolton. Even if the former seems somewhat mystifying.

One wonders how I came to be so brilliant, especially with elders like papareboy and thewhackster around for examples. One minute they’ll be checking out each others shoes, the next they’ll be waving a George Michael flag at the gay pride rally.

Michael appears to be a common name for gay dudes.

Anyway, I’m due to hand over the ‘teen’ bit in my name come October, and I’m not very happy about it. Being a teen and being seen as older suits me quite well. I like it that way. Turning 20 is not something I look forward to, since now I’ll be expected to act all mature.

Expect to hear more protestations on this subject.

12 Responses to “Age and Consequences”


  1. 1 Chavie
    September 16, 2009 at 11:33 am

    ๐Ÿ˜€

    from what I’ve seen, it goes all downhill from 19! lol ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. 2 gutterflower
    September 16, 2009 at 11:46 am

    There’s a typo in your post. Clearly you meant “appearing to be more advanced than my shoe size”

    I repeat, I STILL can’t believe we’re the same age. ๐Ÿ˜

  3. September 16, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Ur still podi even if dinosaurs invaded the land of man!

    =D

  4. September 16, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    *yawn* huh? there was something important said here? was there?

  5. September 16, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Maybe she liked you n didnt wanna date a younger guy.. :D..

    chill it out man.. dont worry the number catches up with the looks soooner..

    you’d be crying for ur number to stick to a limit..

  6. 6 Delilah
    September 16, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    whaaat? you are 19? you sound 13.

  7. 7 sabbyaz
    September 16, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    You’ll still be a child to me =D

  8. 8 Dee
    September 17, 2009 at 9:41 am

    paaaaaaaaaaaaartyy!!

  9. September 17, 2009 at 10:03 am

    @chavie
    Why? O.o

    @GF
    I know, I’m SO much more mature than you, no?

    @purple
    You’re only a month older ๐Ÿ˜›

    @Dili
    Obviously! It’s MY blog! Are you blind?! ๐Ÿ˜›

    @LS
    I would be alarmed if that were the case.

    @Delilah
    hardy har har. ๐Ÿ˜›

    @sabby
    YOU! You’re only what, two years older than me? ๐Ÿ˜›

    @Dee
    No ๐Ÿ˜›

  10. September 17, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    “Boy!”, she said scornfully. ๐Ÿ˜›

  11. 11 Chavie
    September 17, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    oh you know… getting old and losing neurons! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. September 18, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    pff. u r a kid . there’s nothing mature about u. but i love u anyway ithin. what to do.


Leave a Reply

