29
Sep
09

Is Chivalry Required Anymore?

So what with all the changes in society we’ve been seeing, and women finally going from being the fairer sex(aka person-lite) to well, normal people, you start wondering whether chivalry is worth anything.

On the one hand it’s cool to appear all gentlemanly and be polite to women. They tell their friends about this ‘nice guy’ and word spreads like wildfire. The corners of the earth are buzzing with news of your niceness and bam! you show up on bike with a leather jacket. You get the tagged with the “Cool/nice/awesome/bad boy” tag, and Sirisena’s your uncle.

On the other hand, besides the fact that I would look smashing in a leather jacket, it’s also preferential treatment to women. Each time I hold a door open or pause before being seated the same thought process goes through my head; “what would Jesus do?”. Probably turn the water into wine and impress the hell out of a woman, most probably, but I digress. Some women defend it saying that it makes the male look good in the eyes of a woman, and the woman gets pampered. Apparently that’s what they call a “win-win” situation. Besides the fact that being pampered is far more desirable than being seen as a nice guy, it also serves no real purpose.

Why should I hold open a door to the lady who walked next to me when I would just shove my best friend aside to get into a place first?

….yes, it’s a slow day at work.

47 Responses to “Is Chivalry Required Anymore?”


  1. 1 Chavie
    September 29, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    “Why should I hold open a door to the lady who walked next to me when I would just shove my best friend aside to get into a place first?”

    chee chee Jerry what is this ah? πŸ˜€

  2. September 29, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    You really wanna know? πŸ˜›

  3. 5 Whacko
    September 29, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    you have a best friend? :0

    where has he been hiding?!!

    and women want to be liberated and empowered but they still want us to treat them with chivalry and complain that chivalry is dead.

    this reminds me of Kermandrhoders constant. Women are always confused

    hyok :p

  4. 7 Delilah
    September 29, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    its not a requirement. but it’s appreciated by some. and dont confuse gender equality with chivalry. one has nothing to do with the other.
    also you in a leather jacket? ROFL πŸ™‚

  5. September 29, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Then it should be Siripali or something. Weird. Siripala for something female?

  6. September 29, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    I have no idea what Siripala or Sirisena is so I’ll just deal with my confusion!

    But with respect to the topic – I think of it as just common courtesy. I don’t expect a man to open doors for me or to offer me his seat or anything else along the lines of what is considered chivalrous.
    If a person who is older than you (considerably I mean) was to pass through a door at the same time as you – would you also barge them out of the way (more so if they were the same sex as you?).

    But I second what Delilah said. Let’s not get them confused!

  7. 38 Delilah
    September 29, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    yes. its plain old good manners. somehow the practice of it in the company of a woman got labeled as ‘chivalry’.

  8. September 29, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    @delilah & scrump
    So “Chivalry” does not exist? It’s all just manners/courtesy. Then yeah, I would let a senior through.

    But it still doesn’t explain why some women complain when people don’t hold doors open for them or give them a seat in the bus.

  9. 40 Delilah
    September 29, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    chivalry does exist. it’s a concept. another name for being well mannered.

    i cant speak for the wilting flowers who cant open their own doors, but there’s nothing wrong with appreciating chivalry when it’s present.

  10. September 29, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Technically you called it chivalry to begin with….. πŸ˜›

    The women folk are the ones advocating that it’s good manners! πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

