30
Nov
09

On Letters to Your Past Selves

Everyone’s been busy sending messages to their past selves these past few days. I myself sent a brief message. But I still don’t get why everyone tells themselves everything. Why do you do it? Most times you don’t even tell yourselves to DO something about it! What’s the point of telling your past self you’re going to wake up next to a dead hooker if you’re not going to tell yourself not to go to that party and get drunk?

I’m sure you think your teenage woes are fascinating to the general public of the blogosphere, you can’t be blamed, we look at lolcat pictures, but just think! Think of the possibilities! My brother over at lame-duck was the only one I saw giving himself investment advice. Dinidu told himself not to crash into a pig. Mos tof the others were just whining on and on about how they would meet a boy/girl, fall in love with them and how suddenly, together, they would reach the end of the rainbow and find a pot full of coal.

Useless. You’re given such opportunity and you don’t even make use of it. It’s like carving a delicious turkey using a cat. And you call yourselves an internet.

Pfft.

8 Responses to “On Letters to Your Past Selves”


  1. November 30, 2009 at 8:50 am

    hey, i didn’t do that! 😛 though the only worthwhile ‘advice’ i gave myself was to burn some clothes… :S

    welcome back jerrt 😀

  2. November 30, 2009 at 9:23 am

    The only reason I would see in telling my past self to do things differently is because I have regrets about my past and don’t like who I am today. But if you’re happy with your life, why change what happened? Also you would never know what you would be today if your past was different.

  3. 3 Whacko
    November 30, 2009 at 9:25 am

    well i sent the REAL letter to my past self in a time capsule a few days ago. Someday a fiture you may meet a future billionaire me. Or not.

  4. November 30, 2009 at 9:48 am

    How do you carve a turkey with a cat? Is it a dead cat? with rigor mortis? So you’re actually bludgeoning the christmas turkey? 😛

  5. 5 T
    November 30, 2009 at 10:15 am

    good point geraldine. i think the 16 tag quickly spiraled out of control into yet another reason to bombard the blogosphere with our tales of woe. old habits die hard!

  6. 6 sabbyaz
    November 30, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Cheh, what kinda post is this?
    I want my money back 😛

  7. 7 Dee
    November 30, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    lol at the cat thing. but interesting..hmm

  8. 8 Chavie
    November 30, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    you’re just 20… I’m sure in another couple of years you’d have plenty of more stuff to tell your 16 year old self! 😛 😉


Leave a Reply

