31
Dec
09

The Year in Retrospect

So yet another year is coming to an end and we take stock of it. I’m not sure what “retrospect” is but I’ll use it anyway. There are lots of words like that for me; they just seem to fit the sentence but I’m not sure what exactly they mean.

This is what I got out of this year.

Older and less employed. I quit my job in September, started studying in the same month. I’ve been living off my bank account since then and it’s starting to run out. I’m the kind of guy who is lazy about actually finding employment. I have no qualms about being non-lazy while I’m working but I just can’t seem to muster up much effort to get myself into a job. I usually just wait for it to be dropped on my lap, all wrapped up in ribbons.

Kind of like a polar bear living in a cave but then feeling nasty about letting a three tailed arctic lemur eat his caviar. I was never good at analogies anyway.

Other than that, the past year has gone past me like a woman who just saw 50% off on something across the mall. Nice to see my chauvinistic ways are still intact.

My New Year’s Resolutions are non-

OMGWTFBBQ. My mom just asked me to do yet another chore, as I’m writing this post. Clearly the Christmas season is still dragging on…

[Much later]

As I was saying, I don’t have any resolutions, apart from the ultra corny 1440×900 on my desktop. Oh snap, I didn’t just type that.

Hopefully everyone else will have a few so that my quality of life improves.

Considerably.

I’m watching you, people.

Happy New Year!

11 Responses to “The Year in Retrospect”


  1. December 31, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    Yes, you ARE like a polar bear. You fuzzy wuzzy untamed thing, you 😛

    Happy New Year to you too, Jelly Belly.
    Have a good one 🙂

  2. December 31, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    “Hopefully everyone else will have a few so that my quality of life improves.”

    lol.. happy new year dude! 😀

  3. December 31, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    happy new year..keep smiling always 🙂

  4. December 31, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Happy new year to you too. 🙂

  5. 5 Chavie
    December 31, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    That’s a very high resolution… us poor 1024×768 kids feel inferior now! 😛

    Have an awesome year Geraldine! 😉

  6. December 31, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    HAPPY NEW YEAR Berry Jerry.

    “I’m watching you, people.”

    O_O

  7. 7 Dulan
    December 31, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    1440×900? Don’t they do proper monitors anymore…? I’m sure that works for you, but I’m stumped looking for a *regular* 19 inch LCD. Ah well…

    Happy new year!

    • December 31, 2009 at 11:04 pm

      Depends on your definition of ‘proper’. 4:3 aspect ratio monitors are hard to come by unless you’re looking at imported second hand ones, but the widescreens work just fine too. Most video content is wide, and all modern games have the resolutions. I actually prefer this, since I gain width, albeit at the loss of height. Much unlike what I desire of my physique.

      What will you use it for?

  8. January 1, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Wish you a happy new year!!!

  9. January 1, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Hey Jerry, 2010 could be the year to meet Batman again. Who knows, you could get his job, right? Optimism and a bit of positive thinking is all it takes…


Leave a Reply

