09
Mar
10

I Wasn’t Inspired

But I liked it.

I’m not sure why it’s called an Inspirational Swan Lake though. To my layman mind, it was to swan lake what a camel is to an elephant. Both have the same basic structure, like how both involve much dance and great music, but you reach a point where you just don’t know what to make of the trunk. Okay so maybe the story isn’t what’s important. But then why call it that? I couldn’t make heads or tails of the plot, and neither could people around me. The gender reversal was easy to take, but then all these other characters popped in and I was wondering if I was in the right play.

Now, if the whole premise of the thing was to focus on the whole “performance” aspect of things, the performance being the choreography, it was pretty good. It was entertaining. They did a great job of… doing stuff… in time to the amazing music. The entire performance was great, except for the fact that my mind kept roaming all over the events that unfolded trying to find what the heck was going on. I put it down to me being too uncultured. But then again if it were really that great it should make at least something apparent to the observer.

As for being inspired, I don’t know what the big deal was. A bunch of people prancing about on stage does not inspire me much, even if a few of them were deaf or blind or Mac users, it just didn’t make my brain explode into a great big hailstorm of sexism and ways to photoshop people’s faces into humorous images.

Watching just the performance is great, though pretty much like watching Transformers 2 or something. Wait, I know I can connect the two somehow. Ah!

In one it’s a bunch of people practicing long hours to carry out some slick dance moves etc. etc. In the other, it’s a bunch of people putting many years of practice to use to create some pretty slick eye candy.

This may be a bit of a stretch, but when you come down to it, neither made much of an impact, except for one having music that I’m going to go find. But that’s not something you can attribute to the performers.

And finally, in the souvenir, the actors had stage names. Why?

5 Responses to “I Wasn’t Inspired”


  1. 1 Whacko
    March 9, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    cos you’re uncultured.

    i liked the play. it was ‘trippy’. I didnt walk away wanting to invent a new kind of fruitbat or anything but it was..different. If you hadn’t told me the basic skelton of the original story i’d have been pretty much lost throughout i think but even then the whole thing seemed pretty convoluted

  2. March 9, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    http://www.dailymirror.lk/print/index.php/life/132-life/3950.html – This might help. 🙂

    I think the physical and emotional obstacles that the performers had to overcome to deliver what they did was pretty amazing.

    The story – Errm.. i think i’ll join you at being uncultured!

    But the leather pants were so kinkay! 😀

  3. 3 Chavie
    March 9, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    Hahaha, dude you’re a designer… Don’t diss the Mac users! 😉

  4. March 9, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    I agree. Didn’t make much of an impact at all…atleast not as much as was expected.

  5. March 11, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    Mac users… lol! I didn’t see the show so I can’t really comment…


Leave a Reply

