14
Mar
10

I Ttly Love Nokia

My phone’s been crashing a lot lately. It’s not even like it’s a very complex phone. My phone, when compared to something like the Nexus One would look like a few scrawled X’s on some prehistoric cave. Okay maybe not that bad but… an abacus. Yes. An abacus made of sand.

So yesterday when the screen went white and it refused to start, I took out the battery and waited a few minutes before restarting. It started up again but nearly all my applications were missing. Opera, eBuddy et al. Thankfully my contacts were still intact. But what I miss most are all the bookmarks I had in Opera Mini. I know I should have synched it but last time I tried to do that through Opera Link, it synched the default bookmarks on my online account to my phone, wiping out the ones on the phone instead of vice versa.

I had a vague feeling of knowing that I should be geeky enough to figure out a way to get it to work but meh. So cursing Nokia for building not so complex phones that crashed like complex phones, I tried to download opera and all my other apps all over again. But since Nokia is full of surprises, like Herpes, I found that I now had no browser to get online since even the default browser on this phone(5130XM) is Opera Mini.

Since S40 has some kind of built in browser, I tried to see if I could navigate to other sites from the hyperlinks in the phone for places like game downloads. It didn’t work. What’s more my phone decided to throw in a big bundle of screaming harpies and discard most of my messages too. Every ten messages or so there’d be a blank space. Accessing these meant a restart.

After a couple of hours of feeling strangely disconnected due to not being able to tweet about how I didn’t have access to twitter, I got home and downloaded all the stuff I needed through my PC.

So now I have a partially malfunctioning Nokia 5130 XpressMusic, Any idea where I can get it fixed? Or do you want to buy the thing? I’ll even autograph it if you want.

6 Responses to “I Ttly Love Nokia”


  1. 1 Chavie
    March 14, 2010 at 9:05 am

    You just want to get rid of the thing… 😉

    I’m not gonna buy a phone till I can afford to buy something with Android on it, so I guess I’d be stuck with mine for like 3 more years! lol 😀 (But I have to mention that the thing has never crashed on me, or lost my data or anything for the 3 or so years I’ve used it…)

  2. 2 sabbyaz
    March 14, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Zomg. a whole post dedicated to whinging! 😛
    Buy a new phone, I told you this!

    You do so much with your phone whereas a bike, you would only use seldomly, a camera … well sometimes you run outta things to take pictures of and portable HD is so insignifcant, I didn’t even remember it.

    So get a phone 🙂

  3. 4 chathuraw
    March 14, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    There are a lot of phone repair places around Pettah. Just go get your phone flashed again.

    Or just throw it away and get a decent phone like I told you 😛

  4. March 14, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    Hi THERE…
    aiyooo…i know how people can get attached to their phones..lol…i’m one of them…i think for your better mental sanity you should say good bye to it,,,:D

  5. March 14, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    Download Nokia Software Updater to your PC and do a Firmware upgrade.. it’ll probably fix things.
    Make sure you back-up your contacts (only contacts – sometimes backing up and restoring other stuff completely screw things up again) before the firmware update.
    Good luck with it.. 🙂


Leave a Reply

