06
Apr
10

Airtel and Free “Services”

My relationship with my mobile provider has been mostly cordial. Airtel recently rolled out a great package for us prepaid hobos that gives you half a gig of free data for a small monthly fee. Thanks to this I no longer have to see the “The cost of the last data usage was YOUR SOUL! Muahahaha!”-type messages I received for each connection made.

But of late I have been getting increasingly annoyed with this package. The sole reason of this annoyance is another pair of freebies I get. Namely the cricket updates and the “jokes”.

Nary a night goes by without me waking up and finding a dozen new message notifications, then slowly having my spirit broken while combing through each one and finding each one to be a cold, heartless message composed by some unthinking computer in the bowels of Airtel.

The jokes are pretty bad. “What did the dog say when it sat on sandpaper? Ruff!”- kind of bad. It really takes the buzz out of a perfectly good day. So I called them up and asked how to unsubscribe.

I am given instructions to send a code to a number. So I type “DEACT CKT” to 7544, as instructed.

It tells me I’m not subscribed to the service. Thinking I’ve made a typo, I try “DEACT CRIC” and send. Same thing.

“DEACTIVATE CRICKET”

“KILL CKT”

“DIE AIRTEL”

“I HAVE A GUN”

Nothing. Not even that last got any useful response. And then, as if to spite me, I get “A grave is a place where the dead are laid to await the coming of the medical student”. Ominous.

Now I just put up with the constant barrage till I can work up the energy to call them up again and complain.

16 Responses to “Airtel and Free “Services””


  1. April 6, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    “gives you half a gig of free data for a small monthly fee”

    :O
    How is that possible?

  2. April 6, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    hahaha niiice.. Airtel is watching u man, watch out! if u get a joke about “sleeping with the fishes” ur a goner…

  3. April 6, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    HAHAHAHH!
    Your frustration = amusing posts for us.
    Go, Airtel.

  4. April 6, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Hahahaha!

    I got a killer look from boss for LOL at this! πŸ˜€

  5. 8 Chavie
    April 6, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    SLT gives me unlimited data for a small monthly fee, so yeah, Airtel sucks! πŸ˜‰

  6. 9 T
    April 6, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    you must be the only person i know who uses airtel :S

  7. April 8, 2010 at 3:50 am

    hehehe..awesome post!!!

  8. April 8, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Hahaa, exactly the same thing I’m thinking about those dumb alerts! Most of the jokes are lame.

    The worst part is the cricket alerts! I had initially called them and asked them how to deactivate them and I got the same reply. Tried it but it didn’t work. I called again and asked and they said “You can’t deactivate them, it comes with the package”! WTF?

    I really felt like saying STFU & GTFO! Annoying!

    The worst part is that I don’t want to put my phone on silent when sleeping for fear of missing a call with regard to an interview I’m expecting to be called for any day soon! :@

  9. April 8, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    LOL. Jerry, I think this package was custom made for YOU!

    The best data solution for me is from Mobitel, I pay weekly whenever I am in SL. It’s like Rs 75 a week – unlimited; works well with the kind of phone I carry. I tried Dialog – they didn’t even have a solution for guys like me (who are here and gone every so often).

  10. April 8, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    Airtel? Who uses Airtel? πŸ˜›

  11. April 8, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    Echo foxhound… you noob!


Leave a Reply

