06
Jun
10

Girly Songs

I’ve been accused of listening to girly music. Yes, me! Misogynistic, banish-women-to-the-kitchen me. I do not understand the logic behind this. Music is music. I just have a hard time actually listening to the lyrics and realizing that they’re singing about a 13-year old’s angsty whining about a boy and how she can do much better than him.

That was just an example by the way, I don’t listen to Limp Bizkit. Much.

Just because I like a few tracks from Glee doesn’t mean I’m about to start swirling around the streets like a ballerina while swinging a ribbon in my hands. A couple things I’ve gotten flak for are a few tracks from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, namely “Little Shadow” and “Hysteric”, and “Set the fire to the third bar” by Snow Patrol.

All really nice sounding tracks. Tracks that anyone who likes a nice melody or a cool sounding voice would listen to. Sometimes repeatedly. Banished from the fiery, full-of-flames-racecars-and-sharp-things-that-can-kill-you realm of man for being “girly”. I actually wouldn’t mind having “True Colours” in the background while I shovel coal or behead demons or something. Such… vandalism of playlists the world over!

Men! I call out to all of you who are secure enough in your testosterone to listen to these songs that get pushed past us just because the lyrical content will only sate the mind of an emo 14-year old(Or my batch-mates from school, sadly), or merely for it sounding a little pop-ey!

9 Responses to “Girly Songs”


  1. June 6, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    Music is made to be herd by everyone. If not they’ll be dealing the stuff to the specific gender ONLY. I’m with you on this one 🙂

    Cheers!

  2. June 6, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    I like ‘Hysteric’! Just listened to it…until now the only Yeah Yeah Yeahs songs I had heard were Gold Lion, Heads Will Roll and Zero (which I really like). I think Karen O is like a cross between Chrissie Hynde and Björk (especially on Zero). Surely you should get some indie brownie points for that?

    I for one think your taste in music is cool (oh no, I paid Jerry a compliment…what is wrong with me?!)…but that’s possibly ‘cos it’s similar to mine :D. At the end of the day, do you really care that some randoms with no care for melody are criticising your taste? 😛

    You might wanna keep quiet about the Phantom of the Opera stuff though 😉

    • June 6, 2010 at 3:17 pm

      That’s what I keep telling him. That he really shouldn’t care what randoms say.
      Like when he secretly hums Don’t Stop Believing in the car, I tell him he’s in a safe place…he can sing out loud to his hearts content.

      😀

      😀 😀

    • June 7, 2010 at 12:20 pm

      I have no idea what that song is. But if it sounds nice, I would have no shame in humming it 😛

      As for randoms, yeah *cough*sabby*cough*
      😀

  3. June 6, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    I listen to Glee songs, hell ive tweeted them lol …. whats the big fuss? O_o

  4. June 6, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Yeah tis ok to cry too, after listening to those songs
    Tis not a girly thing at all

  5. 7 Chavie
    June 6, 2010 at 11:39 pm

    You listen to Justin Bieber? 😯

    There’s this Aussie girl called Lisa Mitchell I listen to. She has a baby voice and her songs are ‘cute’ apparently. I just like the music, it sounds good. So screw labels, listen to what you feel like listening to! 😀

  6. 9 Delilah
    June 9, 2010 at 9:47 am

    gutterflower also loves snow patrol. i think 🙂


Leave a Reply

