07
Jun
10

Why Do Buses Keep Doing Weird Things To Me?

So I was heading home last Saturday. On the bus. I got on at Bambalapitiya and headed to fort. I happened to sit next to an old lady. A few minutes pass and she asks me if I have anything to eat. I reply in the negative, and put my earphones back on. Not two minutes pass and she asks me where I’m going.

I take out my earphones.

I say “home”.

I put my earphones back on.

Another minute passes and she asks where I live.

I take my earphones off.

I tell her some place.

She asks me if I know “somethingsomething Sudhu Malli”. Apparently he hangs around there.

I say no.

I put my earphones back on.

Another few minutes pass, and she starts telling me about a gang of kidnappers who hang around Orugodawatta or something. She tells me not to talk to the three wheeler drivers there for fear of being bundled into the back of a white van three wheeler and taken away to be chopped up and sold for spare parts, probably

Just as I replied with just enough surprise in my voice and a “oh, okay” to not encourage further conversation, she tells me about how she provided some crucial bit of evidence in some murder case in Maradana or some place. Somewhere in there there was talk of children’s shoes and McDonald’s. Just as she was rounding off with how she’s related to some dude in the police and how she was currently infiltrating a ring of people abducting children, I suddenly remembered that I was hungry. And what better time to get an excuse to go eat something than when you’re being talked at by a less than sane person? I made a hasty exit and got off the bus at Colpetty.

I wonder whether it was me being rude, or if she was just aย  little mad.

I put my earphones back on.

9 Responses to “Why Do Buses Keep Doing Weird Things To Me?”


  1. June 7, 2010 at 10:37 am

    Perhaps the headphones made her think that you were some FBI or CID guy and so she might have thought that she could get some brownie points by giving “sensitive” info to you! ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. 2 Chavie
    June 7, 2010 at 10:41 am

    haha, it’s funny how people come up and talk to you so much… work on that Aiya face! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. June 7, 2010 at 11:53 am

    You seem to attract weirdos… Just like The Gutterflower… You two have something in common ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. June 7, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    So basically what you’re trying to tell us is that you got hit on by an old woman on a bus? Nice.

    ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. June 7, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    @thiru
    Hmm. Maybe I can use this to my advantage ๐Ÿ˜€

    @Chavie
    I’m growing a ‘stache. Should be badass enough in a week!

    @MoM
    No.

    ๐Ÿ˜›

    @PR
    Somehow I imagine you going “niiiceeeee” and giggling in your chair, with glee playing in the background.

    Disturbing!

  6. June 7, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    im pretty sure you’re just mad and she was a little rude ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. 8 Delilah
    June 9, 2010 at 9:43 am

    aw ou and gutterflower got something in common. shweeeet ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. 9 Jack Point
    June 10, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Either was a bit daft or hitting on you.


Leave a Reply

