06
Aug
10

Update

I assume you have been wondering where I was all these weeks. No?

Fine. Be that way. See if I care you emotionless fiend! I have bee devastated by the crippling reality that I live in the worst parts of the sticks. Why, you ask? Because a few weeks ago, when my parents were away, someone snuck into the back yard and stole a- …wait, you pick. Below is a list of stuff in the back yard. What would you pick?

  1. Two old washing machines.
  2. Tons of computer display equipment.
  3. Various tools.
  4. Bananas.

So, any sane person who is not, or ever has been, a horde of barbarians, or say, a monkey, would pick something like the computer equipment right? Or at a stretch, the old washing machines. Apparently, around here the people still barter using elongated fruit, and steal bushels of it from people’s yards. Woe is me.

So anyway, all drama aside, I have been downloading Kung Fu movies. I think there are about five or six now, from Bruce Lee through Jet Li. My mind has been taken over by little chinese men fighting with chopsticks.

Movies with characters doing that are bound to be fascinating.

In other news, I started and abruptly stopped taking part in #project365, a nice little personal project where you post one picture a day for, get this, 365 days. Pseudorandom has been studiously updating her feed over at her flickr set. My participation in this lasted all of 8 hours or so, with me posting a picture one day, then not having anything to show for the next two, now three days. I guess you need a camera to take pictures after all.

Actually, my phone would have done fine for this if I had been taking pictures in the daytime. Since in Sri Lanka, you can’t take pictures with your phone in public without being given creepy looks and possibly being shot at, my only options at the moment are images at night, at home. That means some nice low-light shots and macros. Since my phone handles these as well as a leper handling perfect skin, I shall leave this project for another day, when I actually get myself a proper camera.

But on the bright side, I have gotten into uploading straight to picasa. Till I do find myself holding at least a compact, all that shall adorn these albums is the odd weekend out or rare day when I actually take a picture in the daytime. With my phone. Without being stoned.

17 Responses to “Update”


  1. August 6, 2010 at 9:36 am

    you’re funny πŸ™‚

    maybe it was an animal who stole the fruit?!

  2. August 6, 2010 at 10:10 am

    Get yourself a camera! πŸ˜€

  3. August 6, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    i think u need to add the recording to this post πŸ˜€

    THEY STOLE.. THEY STOLE MY FUCKIN’ BANANAS!!!! !@#$%^&*)*&^%$&*

  4. August 6, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    My goodness, I got a mention and a link! Now I’m famous! πŸ˜€

    Also, hahahahahahahahahahahahaha bananas πŸ˜€

  5. August 6, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    Who would steal bananas? :S

    And yeah get a camera.

    Cheers!

  6. August 8, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    That is not true, I took a million pictures when I was in SL last week, without many creepy looks.

    • August 12, 2010 at 10:14 am

      Tourists can, and sometimes people with regular compacts can too. But if you’re just a regular pedestrian and you whip out your phone, you get many dirty looks.

      I tried :/

  7. August 8, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    u are so hilarious. anyway, its not the camera, its the cameraman πŸ™‚ u can get some great shots with a normal phone cam!! πŸ™‚ go for it!

    • August 12, 2010 at 10:16 am

      Thanks!

      As for the camera, I mostly agree, look at the sinhalaya pics for example.
      [/selfPromotion]

      But there’s just some things you can’t do with a phone cam. Like take pictures in low light. It’s just too much of a noisy blurry mess. I don’t mind it in the daytime though!

  8. August 15, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    HEHEHE..you actually want me to believe that someone in this modern age…stole Banana’s from you…???
    lovely post…:))


Leave a Reply

