04
Oct
10

Salespeople

You lot must have been wondering where I’ve been all these weeks. Do I hear a no? A yes? A “who is that dashing gent? He must be interesting”?

Well I was here. I hadn’t gone anywhere and I wasn’t much busier than I usually am. I just never got round to posting anything because nothing particularly interesting happened to me. For example the most interesting thing that happened to me in the last few weeks was me going shopping for a keyboard. A computer keyboard. I would have had better luck finding excitement if I went home and stared creepily at kids walking by in the street.

Anyway, while on the hunt for the perfect set of keys to type this post on, I went through an adventure of epic proportions. The kind that historians a few centuries in the future will pun-fully refer to as “One that went all the way from A to Z”. The keyboards of the future will have those two letters very far apart. At first I kept running into the Justin Beibers of the keyboard world. Extremely popular but not very good at what they do, these keyboards were dirt cheap, in price as well as construction. Though that metaphor kind of falls apart if you consider that dirt, or earth, is actually quite solid. But then again that’s only when it’s been compacted. I didn’t get to try that with the keyboards.

Alas, the price of keyboards varies wildly like a woman in the throes of an intense mood-swing. Much like a woman, most were wireless. And very expensive. The worst part was going into a shop and having the salesperson pull out every single keyboard on offer, and then not buying anything. If I were asked that terrible job-interview question of “what is your greatest weakness” it would be feeling extremely guilty when someone puts so much effort into trying to sell me some tiny computer accessory. And then looks at me pleadingly while I mull over the options.

But I digress. But then again I always digress. I am a perpetual digresser. I have known I am unique ever since the fingerprint machine at work refused to accept any of my ten fingers as valid prints. I am the kind to take a cat to a gunfight.

See what I mean about digressing?

In other news, a new semester has begun at class and work goes on at a steady buzzing pace.

9 Responses to “Salespeople”


  1. October 4, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    erm… wireless like a woman? :S

  2. 3 Chavie
    October 4, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    LOL, what Thameera asked. 😀

    Btw, did you buy a laptop?

  3. 5 Sabby
    October 4, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Finally. Oh and also, the required….LOL!

  4. 6 chathuraw
    October 5, 2010 at 9:49 am

    So where’s the “adventure of epic proportions”? Did I miss it? :-/

  5. 8 hoblet
    October 5, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    this is kind of off topic. i think
    the price of the laptop ? it would be awesome if you could send me a mail

  6. 9 Viola
    October 5, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Male shopaholic ahoy!


Leave a Reply

