05
May
11

Mixture

When reading something, I sometimes have a tendency to guess whether the author was male or female. I don’t know if this is some kind of inherent sexual stereotyping or if it’s something far less useful.

It just feels odd when I’m reading something, and suddenly I get this feeling that this is a man’s writing. And then I read a sentence that sounds like something a woman would write. I know this sounds terribly like I’m some kind of stereotyping sexist but I can’t help it! My brain just keeps switching that mental image of the author between the two genders. After a few of these creepy transitions, I just look it up.

Then again, I’ve been completely wrong about many pieces of writing. Most notably, the William series. Richmal Crompton(Bless her soul) doesn’t even sound like a male name!* Then there were the myriad blog posts and newspaper articles. If anything, you’d think I’d have assumed by now that I can’t predict male or woman-ness in writing.

In other news, I am now acutely aware of the need to step into more responsible shoes. Mostly because my parents are making me spend all my money on useless things like home improvement and education. I only have a few more years of wantonly spending on whatever I want, and I hope to make full use of it to further my hedonistic interests.

Work, too, is getting exciting as I might move on to someplace else soon. As it is, I bear the roles of about four different people, as a consequence of which I have shown up at the same client’s granite doorstep in multiple capacities.

Day 1
“Hi, [company]? We need to record a voice-over.”

“Coming right up  sir!”

“Hello, nice to meet you. Read this script”

—-

Day 2
“Hi, [company]? We need a new profile done.”

“We’ll send someone over to discuss things!”

“Oh, it’s you again? [Bad joke involving local habits that I have to laugh at anyway] Well let’s get started then.”

Day 3
“Hi, [company]? We need some new websites.”

“Someone will be there shortly”

“You’ve got to be kidding me -_-“

Understandably, I’m not looking forward to much more of this.

Have you noticed in buses, when a pregnant lady gets up and makes her way towards the door, people follow her out with the zest of motorcyclists following an ambulance through traffic? It’s bizarre.

.

.

.

*On a cursory google search, I just discovered she wrote dozens of books, most of which I haven’t read. Anyone have them?

11 Responses to “Mixture”


  1. 1 Chavie
    May 5, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    LOL about people following the preggy girl. Oh man, there’s this dude in class that we all follow when lectures are over. He just _clears_ the road! 😀

  2. May 5, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    Like you thought I was a guy when you first read my blog!

  3. May 6, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    You’re not the only one that got Richmal Crompton wrong. Reading William you’d never guess she was erm.. a she. And a school teacher at that! 🙂

  4. 7 Sabby
    May 9, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Is this blog still alive? O.o

  5. 9 Eargazzm
    May 16, 2011 at 9:54 am

    Hey Jerry, can you please tell me how you were able to embed the Blogged label widget on the right side widget bar? Coz afaik there’s no way to embed HTML on wordpress unless it’s on paid hosting :S

    Please do tell. 🙂
    Thanks in advance

  6. 11 Eargazzm
    May 19, 2011 at 11:16 am

    thanks alot man 🙂


Leave a Reply

