19
Jan
12

Telephone

I switched back to a Dialog connection in the middle of last year. Ever since I switched, I’ve been getting callers looking for a certain army captain. I even got a call from the ex-servicemen’s association asking if I was showing up for one of their dinners or something.

Over the new year, I got a bunch of texts wishing me(Captain [censored]), a happy new year, from (all kinds of people). There were even a message from some Major who was in the UK at the moment.

This still happens, occasionally. Someone calls, asks if I am not the esteemed captain, confirms my number, and hangs up after apologizing.

The story doesn’t quite end there, though. I also get calls for a “Mr. Jayasekera”. Or something. I once got three calls from the same number, a secretary, convinced that she had dialed the wrong number, kept calling and finding me on the other end. I politely told her “No, this isn’t he. Alright.”, “No, you just called me five seconds ago.” and “No. Yes. Me again. Sorry”. I could practically hear her blushing her way through it.

Then there are the calls from what sounds like a carpenter’s workshop. A voice asks for Mr. J, straining to be heard over the occasional burst of a power saw, timing sentences to make the hammer in the background fall into place where the silences would be.

I’d be interested in knowing how this number had such an illustrious journey through two owners. Maybe it’s some elaborate prank that someone’e pulling on me, the punchline of which is still being worked up to. Hmm.

3 Responses to “Telephone”


  1. January 20, 2012 at 6:36 am

    I don’t think this is a prank. I think dialog is re-using numbers which were disconnected previously. I remember sometime back, I found out one of my friend’s dialog number is being used by another person. This was found out after some suspiciously large bills.

  2. January 21, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    You could always play along šŸ˜€ (and probably end up getting abducted, but yeah…)

  3. 3 Ruwa918
    March 8, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    hey! I have the same problem…people keep on asking for someone else n doesn’t even believe when I say I’ve been using this new sim for more than 6 months or so!


Leave a Reply

