30
Jan
12

Local Businesses on Twitter: A Comparison

"EEEEEeee! Someone snuck some CAT-5 into the tour bus!"

In my wanderings on twitter, I’ve come across a few local businesses on twitter. Being an expert on everything, I’ve decided to jot down my impressions here.

Dialog: Our premier telco appears to have hired a coven full of people to tweet things out at us citizens, and is quite successful at plastering the local twitter landscape with their propaganda. They’ve even gotten a “verified” account and all. Shuh. Usual corporate announcements and occasional memes and crowd pleasers. You have to put up with the occasional cringe-fest, for example “Are you ready to win 5 mil worth of Au?”, but it’s usually pretty okay. It’s pretty much like sitting in a dialog arcade(acid-trip colours with people in suits), except the employees are a bit more entertaining.

Coco Veranda: Coco V got off to a good start, luring plenty of people over to have coffee at their establishment. Personally, I do not see the appeal. This probably has something to do with the fact that an evening at the place makes my wallet lighter by an amount that should feed a rural family for a week, but I digress. The twitter account was quite nice. Engaging, helpful and just overall… normal. Was. Now it appears to have been taken over by a thirteen year old with a punctuation fetish.

Chinadoll LK – This is a restaurant. It appears to have decent food. Nice site and all. This account seems to be run by an actual person, instead of a corporate drone or hapless Hannah Montana groupie. I’m not actually following this account, but I keep seeing RT’s of it. Unfortunately, for all the genuinely like-able tweets, I don’t really see anyone going “hey all, let’s meet up at chinadoll for that feminist meeting”, or “let’s order the food from chinadoll for our event that furthers the feminist agenda”.* The only fault I can find with this is that it sounds like a regular person’s account instead of a business. That, and… and… uh… there are three adjacent L’s in the twitter handle.

Perera & Sons – These guys got on twitter in a big way, with foursquare promotions and all. There was some massive ruckus with them having reneged on an offer of free cake or something. Cake is serious business. I don’t see them around much now, and my impression while they were around was complete mediocrity. It felt like the textual form of a radio promotion. It wasn’t bad, and it wasn’t good either. It was just… there.

KIK Cola – I’ve only had second hand impressions of this account, with the occasional quote and customer testimonial. In my usual fashion of making sweeping generalizations, I’m going to assume this account sort of sucks because when I googled kik cola to see if “kik” had one I or two, the description of their website had three exclamation marks in it. Three exclamation marks are for people having epileptic fits on their keyboards, brah. And coco verandah, apparently.

 

 

*Clearly I follow too many feminists.

7 Responses to “Local Businesses on Twitter: A Comparison”


  1. January 30, 2012 at 8:50 am

    Ahahahaha brilliant! 😀

  2. 2 dee
    January 30, 2012 at 9:54 am

    teehee…P&S and Kik are handled by Digi media agencies 😉

  3. 4 T
    January 30, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    I’m not a fan of when companies become ‘real people’ and start tweeting random things completely unrelated to their business. Anything.lk and dialog are guilty of that at times. Coco Veranda, on the other hand, is on a totally different level of weird. If the prices didn’t keep me out, it would be the fear that #cocoisyours would tweet a pic of me eating cake or something. Creepy stalker-like behaviour to the extreme.

  4. January 30, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    Well Dialog at least responds to queries now and then and tweets promos, but yes they seem to tweet random articles which are unrelated to their business (articles that fascinate Himal so much he HAS to retweet them!). It’s a bit annoying, but it’s not terrible. For now..

    Anything.lk also started off being only service-centric, but is now a regular person just saying hello to everyone.

    Coco is just, I don’t know. I want to say nice but my mind just can’t wrap itself around the fact that Coco Veranda is actually mine!

    To be honest, the only good local twitter account so far has been Avirate – they only tweet about their products and services and engage enough with potential customers as well.

  5. January 30, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    @Gehan
    You OWN Coco?? O_o

  6. January 31, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    lol they keep tweeting #Cocoisyours all the time, I just assumed…


Leave a Reply

